Australian Touring Car Championship

I was casting around my stock of photos and realised i had quite a few shots of cars raced in the 1969 australian touring car championship atcc or during other races that year many by dick simpson so it seemed smart to pop some words to go with them. Australian touring car championship racing series.

Cams Grants Calder Park Circuit Licence Speedcafe

Ford Eb Falcon 1993 Australian Touring Car Championship Driver

Shellmotorsportteam On Twitter This Week We Re Remembering Dick

The series itself is no longer contested but the title lives on with the winner of the virgin australia supercars championship awarded the trophy and title of australian touring car champion.

Australian touring car championship. News video highlights calendar results and live timing from the virgin australia supercars championship formerly the v8 supercars championship. Defending series champion dick johnson finished 2nd in his ford mustang the first time a mustang had been seen in the atcc since 1972 with peter brock finishing third in his holden vk commodore. They are also the most expensive touring cars in the world with each car costing in excess of 1 million aud which includes state of the art 250000 aud 680 hp engines.

The series was won by john bowe driving a dick johnson racing ford ef falcon. The ford ef falcon and holden vr commodore were both homologated for competition. The 1991 australian touring car championship was a cams sanctioned motor racing title open to group 3a touring cars.

This is a list of driver records in the australian touring car championship and v8 supercars since 1960. Triple bathurst winner jim richards won his and bmws first australian touring car championship driving a 35 litre 6 cyl bmw 635 csi entered by jps team bmw. A series of touring car racing in australia and which became v8 supercars australia after the 1998 season.

Australian touring car championship in australia touring car racing has always been very popular whether they used international rules like group a or invented their own. Although the series name was changed the v8 supercars australiav8 supercar championship series points winner receives the title australian touring car champion. The title which was the 32nd australian touring car championship was contested over a nine round series which began on 24 february 1991 at sandown raceway and ended on 11 august at oran park raceway.

Formerly the australian touring car championship supercars are now recognised internationally as the fastest touring cars in the world racing at speeds of up to 320kph. Drivers competing in the current season are shown in boldentries marked with a light blue background denote a record achieved when the driver was employed as an endurance co driver. The championship which was the 36th australian touring car championship was contested over a ten rounds between february and august 1995.

The australian touring car championship atcc is a touring car racing award held in australia since 1960.

Ford Falcon V8 Shell Australian Touring Car Championship

1986 Australian Touring Car Championship Photo Motorsport Images

Nissan Celebrates 25th Anniversary Of First Australian Touring Car

Similar Posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *